Everyone is Pointing Fingers At Who Should Take Charge with Cyberbullying…

Standard

A lot of people know that cyberbullying is happening, but not a lot of people are taking it into their own hands and dealing with it. Yes, there are people who do take a stand but it has not be substantial enough were incidents are becoming fewer. If parents, schools, and professionals who work with social networking sites teamed together in campaigns against cyberbullying users would see a consistent message on how it is wrong to treat others that way.

In the article from teacherweb.com, “How Should Facebook and Myspace Handle Cyberbullying,” author Emily Bazelon describes how false accusations of cyberberbullying changed an individual’s life. The accusations began when his Facebook page was reported for harassment; however, this individual didn’t even have a Facebook page.

Furthermore, Bazelon describes how the individual and parents were never given answers on who actually created this fake Facebook. This showed me how you really can never trust who the person is behind the Facebook page because anyone can upload pictures of someone, create a profile, and be acting like someone else on the Internet.

Throughout this article Bazelon compared how MySpace and Facebook each handle cyberbullying issues. After reading the article I am sort of confused why MySpace has the rep it does because it seemed like this website takes this bullying more serious and takes greater steps into action than Facebook.

Then Facebook doesn’t seem to be actually admitting what is actually going on with cyberbullying or abusive use on the web because once it is reported they complete a small investigation and then just delete the page. It seems like Facebook is sweeping the bug under the rug and forgetting about the situation.

Instead of schools, parents, and social networking sites pointing fingers in the opposite direction I think that all three areas need to work together to control the amount of cyberbullying happening and implementing punishments. Bazelon wrote good arguments on how situations are and are not being handled; furthermore, was being realistic about the internet and today’s generation of users.

5 responses »

  1. It is interesting how Myspace takes cyber bullying more seriously than Facebook. Hardly, anyone I know uses Myspace due to Facebook. So, I would think Facebook would try to focus on these issues more. I agree with you about schools, parents, and the social networks should work together to tackle the cyber bullying issues that are happening today. More people are bullied over the internet than face-to-face conversations.

    Also, it is interesting how people never know who is communicating through a Facebook account. I agree that anyone can upload pictures and create a profile using a fake name and profile. That’s why only my friends can see my Facebook profile and pictures because you never know.

  2. It is interesting how Myspace takes cyber bullying more seriously than Facebook. Hardly, anyone I know uses Myspace due to Facebook. So, I would think Facebook would try to focus on these issues more. I agree with you about schools, parents, and the social networks should work together to tackle the cyber bullying issues that are happening today. More people are bullied over the internet than face-to-face conversations.
    Also, it is interesting how people never know who is communicating through a Facebook account. I agree that anyone can upload pictures and create a profile using a fake name and profile. That’s why only my friends can see my Facebook profile and pictures because you never know.

  3. I agree with what you are saying with the different privacy precautions with the different cyber spaces. Myspace is targeted at the younger middle and highscool age students so they take greater precautions than Facebook. Though facebook was supposed to be targeting the college level students and adults there are many young children on facebook. I think that Facebook needs to have more control over what is going on with these people bullying and harrasing one another.

  4. I definitely agree that all the areas need to work together because if kids aren’t hearing the same thing from each place they really can’t take the issues of cyberbullying seriously. Facebook should take the initiative and start implementing stricter policies against cyberbullies and people who create face Facebook accounts to purposely hurt someone else. I think people may feel overwhelmed by it all because new technology is everywhere and it is hard to monitor what everyone is doing but that shouldn’t be an excuse as to why precautions aren’t being taken against cyberbullying.

  5. I feel cyberbullying has become a way of life for a lot of students. Everytime I turn on the news or look online for the daily newspaper, there is always something about a student who killed himself/herself because they were bullied. I don’t agree with Myspace taken more precautions because Facebook is used more frequently. Facebook should create a strict policy on bullying or harrassment. In the past I had a person say some nasty things about me publicly and when I notified Facebook to take the comment down, nothing happened. Everyone in the Facebook world who read her post knew a situation I was in and kept saying things to me about it in school. It was hard to deal with since the girl was in one of my classes and so were some of the people bothering me. I continued to send harrassment notices to Facebook and finally after 3 months the comments were taken down. However the girl was able to send my cellphone number to everyone and they harrassed me through texts. Facebook said they could not do anything about it, and ignored my attempts after. It was hard because the website I am frequently on did not help me.

Leave a Reply

